IOC recognises leadership contribution of NOC scientists

IOC 50th Anniversary

Luminaries from NOC and its predecessors received prestigious awards in Paris this week from the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC), which is celebrating its half-century this year.

Phil Woodworth (NOC), Lesley Rickards (BODC), Nic Flemming (formerly, IOS, NOCS and Chair of Eurogoos) and Meirion Jones (ex-Director of BODC) all received 50th Anniversary Commemorative Medals as scientists who have made substantial contributions to the work of the IOC. The medal was awarded to 43 individuals selected by the Medal Nomination Committee based on Member States and recommendations by committee members.

In its citation, IOC says that recipients “...are decorated for their exemplary dedication to the IOC, for their devotion to the IOC mission and for their continuing support to the IOC activities.”

The IOC, which held its first assembly in 1961, was set up “to promote international cooperation and to coordinate programmes in research, services and capacity building, in order to learn more about the nature and resources of the ocean and coastal areas and to apply that knowledge for the improvement management, sustainable development and protection of the marine environment and the decision making process of its Member States.”

The awards marked the closure of the IOC’s 50th anniversary year activities.

For more information and biographies, please see: