Events Archive

Thursday 2 February 2017 - 19:30
Plesiosaur paddle – a fossil hindfin of a plesiosaur during excavation (photo by Aubrey J Roberts) Thu, 2 February 2017 Prehistoric marine reptiles from the Arctic – from excavation to research Reptiles adapted to marine environments at present are limited to a few species which are...
Thursday 12 January 2017 - 19:30
Marine Life Talk Thu, 12/01/2017 – 19:30 Biodiversity and environmental protection of deep-sea habitats targeted for mining. Deep-sea mining is a brand new industry that is potentially on the horizon for...
Monday 12 December 2016 - 11:30 to 17:00
The Society for Underwater Technology (SUT) is hosting it’s annual Christmas Lecture event at the National Oceanography Centre in Southampton on the 12 December 2016. This is a free programme of...
Tuesday 6 December 2016 - 09:00 to Wednesday 7 December 2016 - 17:00
2nd International Marine Science Communication Conference 6–7 December 2016, Bruges Organised by the European Marine Board, this two day conference combines hands-on exercises in...
Thursday 1 December 2016 - 19:30 to 21:00
The Black Bream Project 1 December 2016 – The Black Bream Project Speaker: Dr Matt Doggett Each year a relatively unknown but spectacular event occurs underwater off the Dorset, Hampshire and Sussex coasts and...
Monday 14 November 2016 - 00:00 to Friday 18 November 2016 - 00:00
MAT Showcase 2016 ALR Monday 14 – Friday 18 November 2016 The UK’s National Oceanography Centre is hosting a brand new marine autonomy and technology showcase from 14-18 November at the NOC’s waterfront site in...
Monday 14 November 2016 - 00:00 to Friday 18 November 2016 - 00:00
Autosub6000 Monday 14 – Friday 18 November 2016 With 2016 set to be a packed year for the MARS team and the Marine Robotics Innovation Centre, the 2016 showcase will move to 14 – 18 November 2016 giving...
Thursday 3 November 2016 - 19:15 to 21:15
Secrets of the Solent 3 November 2016 – Secrets of the Solent; becoming involved in marine conservation locally Speaker: Owain Masters A presentation about Hampshire and Isle of Wight Wildlife Trust’s new...
Tuesday 25 October 2016 - 00:00 to Saturday 29 October 2016 - 00:00
NERC are bringing their science to the North West in a series of events during October. We live and breathe science. From the air in our lungs to whether of not it rains today,...
Thursday 6 October 2016 - 19:00 to 21:30
Humpback whales 6 October 2016 – Marine Conservation Efforts in Southern Mozambique Speaker: Francesca Trotman Love the Oceans, founded in 2014 by University of Southampton graduate Francesca Trotman, is...
Tuesday 4 October 2016 - 00:00 to Friday 7 October 2016 - 00:00
Into the blue – RRS Discovery in Liverpool 4–7 October 2016 We live and breathe science. From the air in our lungs to whether of not it rains today, environmental science explains much of what happens to us. Did you know that air quality...
Monday 26 September 2016 - 00:00 to Tuesday 27 September 2016 - 00:00
26–27 September 2016 – more than 150 scientists and engineers from universities, research centres and businesses around the world will make their way to Southampton to take part in ‘Everyone’s...
Wednesday 21 September 2016 - 09:00 to Thursday 22 September 2016 - 17:00
UK Marine Science Strategy The MSCC will be holding one of only two Plenary meetings held per year at NOC on the 21–22 September 2016. The MSCC is a steering committee which identifies opportunities for the alignment...
Monday 5 September 2016 - 09:00 to Thursday 8 September 2016 - 17:00
Challenger Society for Marine Science 5–8 September 2016 – The 17th biennial Challenger Society for Marine Science conference will be held in Liverpool, jointly hosted by the National Oceanography Centre, Liverpool University and...
Thursday 1 September 2016 - 19:30 to 21:00
Corals Being a coral nutritionist: How does the diet of a reef coral affect its health and ability to cope with rising temperatures? Speaker: Sabrina Rosset – Coral reefs have been hitting the...