Events Archive

Monday, 13 November, 2017 - 09:00 to Friday, 17 November, 2017 - 18:00
Marine Autonomy and Technology Showcase 2017 The MAT Showcase for 2017 will take place during the week of 13 – 17 November. The NOC has been pioneering in the development of Marine Autonomous Systems for 20 years now, developing...
Wednesday, 20 September, 2017 - 15:00
An overview of the applications of AUVs by Kevin Forshaw of the National Oceanography Centre, UK Wednesday 20 September 2017: 15:00 – 16:00 hrs Nelson Mandela University Business School...
Monday, 11 September, 2017 - 08:30 to Friday, 15 September, 2017 - 15:30
1st international workshop on waves, storm surges & coastal hazards Together with research institutes at home and abroad, the NOC is organising the 1st international workshop on waves, storm surges and coastal hazards. This event, to be held in Liverpool...
Thursday, 7 September, 2017 - 19:00 to 19:30
Marine Life Talk Due to the Summer break, there will not be a September Marine Life Talk. The Marine Life Talks are normally held on the first Thursday of the month, every month. The programme will resume...
Tuesday, 5 September, 2017 - 08:00 to Friday, 8 September, 2017 - 17:00
This week, NOC representatives will be attending Europe’s leading offshore exploration and production event, SPE Offshore Europe. NOC will also be presenting at the following session:...
Monday, 31 July, 2017 - 00:00 to Friday, 11 August, 2017 - 00:00
The National Oceanography Centre (NOC) in Southampton is hosting this intensive two-week course funded by the Natural Environment Research Council under the “Advanced Short Training Course”...
Thursday, 13 July, 2017 - 09:00 to 15:15
Thursday 13 July  2017, 09:00 – 15:15 National Oceanography Centre, European Way, Southampton, SO14 3ZH As the use of Marine Autonomous Systems (MAS) for science, industry and...
Tuesday, 4 July, 2017 - 18:00 to 19:15
ROV sampling the seabed PLEASE NOTE: Change to the usual Marine Life Talks programme, July's talk will take place on Tuesday, 4 July at 18:00 On 4 July, the NOC is hosting the EU Blue Mining group and key members of...
Saturday, 1 July, 2017 - 10:00 to 15:00
A team from the NOC Marine Geology department will be at the British Geological Survey Open Day this Saturday in Keyworth, Nottinghamshire, which promises ‘something for rock lovers of all ages...
Saturday, 24 June, 2017 - 10:00 to Sunday, 25 June, 2017 - 17:00
Robot explorers and the mysteries of the Mersey Scientists and engineers from the National Oceanography Centre in Liverpool and the University of Liverpool will be giving visitors to the...
Tuesday, 13 June, 2017 - 09:00 to Thursday, 15 June, 2017 - 17:30
Adam Schink, the NOC’s Marine Robotics Innovation Centre Manager, will present at Seawork International 2017, on Tuesday 13 June. The session will examine how businesses can engage with the NOC...
Saturday, 3 June, 2017 - 10:30 to 16:00
For one day of the year we open the doors of our Southampton office to the public, giving a unique view of the ground breaking science and engineering undertaken across the NOC. The day is a...
Thursday, 1 June, 2017 - 19:00 to 21:00
The undulate ray project The Undulate Ray Project This presentation describes how scuba divers have been monitoring rays, predominantly undulate rays (Raja undulata), at a particular Dorset site for the last four...
Thursday, 18 May, 2017 - 09:00 to Friday, 19 May, 2017 - 17:30
European Maritime Day NOC is proud to be attending and exhibiting at this year’s European Maritime Conference being hosted in Poole on the South Coast of the UK. The heart of European Maritime Day, this 2-day...
Thursday, 4 May, 2017 - 19:00 to 21:00
Marine Life Talk Thursday, 4 May 2017 Life under the ice: How we monitor and manage marine life in Antarctica The marine life around Antarctica evolved through glacial cycles and isolation by complex...